The Scribe Nonfiction Prize

Posted 31 August 2017

Entries are now open for The 2017 Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers!

Now in its fifth year, The 2017 Scribe Nonfiction Prize is a unique development award to foster talented writers aged 30 and under writing longform work. Entries between 5,000 and 10,000 words are welcome across all nonfiction genres, including memoir, journalism, essay, and creative nonfiction.

Shortlisted writers will receive:
Рan invitation to an exclusive craft development masterclass with some of Australia’s best nonfiction writers at Scribe Publications on November 23
– personalised feedback on their entry from the judges
– a generous selection of new-release Scribe books tailored to their reading interests

The winner receives:
– a cash prize of $3000
– an editorial mentorship to develop their work
– a generous selection of new-release Scribe books tailored to their reading interests.

The shortlist will be selected by Elizabeth Flux (Editor of Voiceworks from 2013 to 2015, writer for Junkee, Metro, The Lifted Brow, Kill Your Darlings), Tim McGuire (Editorial Committee of Voiceworks from 2015 to 2016, writer for The Australian, Big Issue, Kill Your Darlings, The Lifted Brow, Going Down Swinging), Julia Carlomagno (Senior Editor, Scribe Publications) and Fiona Dunne (Creative Producer, Express Media). The winner will be selected by Scribe Publications.
Writers will also have the chance to ask their burning question about the prize, and seek advice on what the judges are looking for during a Live Q&A with David Golding and Julia Carlomagno on Thursday August 3 from 6pm. RSVP to stay up to date.
Past winners and shortlisted writers have gone onto sign their debut works as a direct result of the prize: Briohny Doyle (Adult Fantasy, May 2017), Oliver Mol (Lion Attack!, May 2015), Patrick Mullins (A Liberal View, forthcoming August 2018), Drew Rooke (The Final Spin, forthcoming May 2018), and Lech Blaine (Car Crash forthcoming late 2018). The 2014 winner, Robbie Arnott, has received critical acclaim for his work, and was awarded The 2015 Tasmanian Young Writers Fellowship.
Entries close 11.59pm Sunday 10 September.
Read the full submission guidelines and terms and conditions  see link:

The Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers is presented in partnership with Scribe Publications.

© 2017 Geelong Region ArtsAtlas web design by greengraphics